Skip to content

Clapping hands

February 18, 2009

I can’t ask* another person to love me. 
I can’t ask another person to compliment me on my writing.
I can’t ask another person to enjoy my cooking.
I can’t ask another person to like my style.
I can’t ask another person to motivate me.
I can’t ask another person to be happy for me after completing a deadline. 

Of course I can, but why should I?
To get attention, or confirmation or to feel less insecure?
The only person who should really give me what I need is myself!
And to add some humour to that, there’s a supportive** device: 

The Applause Machine, designed by British artist Martin Smith, is the first product of Laikingland. This creative collaboration, based in both the UK and The Netherlands, has the intention to design and manufacture beautifully crafted kinetic objects that engage, and evoke a sense of play and nostalgia. The Applause Machine is available via design stores like The Frozen Fountain in Amsterdam, but also at the Laikingland webshop

PS: people who do love me, like my style, enjoy my cooking etc. are always welcome!

* = when desired, can be replaced by ‘beg’ or ‘force’
** = by means of taking things not too seriously, because after listening some seconds to the machine’s sound, I was totally convinced that human hands clap better

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elina permalink
    February 18, 2009 9:35 pm

    haha die is grappig zeg!

    en that’s so Oprah! LOOOOVE YOURSELF!

  2. March 17, 2009 9:29 pm

    wow, wicked. i could do with one of those!

Leave a Reply

