Skip to content

On the wishlist: Eating Animals

January 21, 2010

About ten years ago I stopped eating meat. I never really liked the taste of it, but meat also made me often sick.
My stomach hurt every time I ate beef and it felt like my body had really struggle to digest it.

As I was already a part-time vegetarian, giving up meat was no challenge for me at all. Soon after that I felt much more energetic. At that time I did still eat some fish, like twice a year, but one day I ordered salmon at a restaurant and found out that I couldn’t eat it anymore. Being a vegetarian had not only changed my taste, but besides that I became more and more aware of the fact that meat and fish are dead animals. Why should I eat dead animals when I don’t need to? I love animals! Later I also found out more about the cruelty of the industrial meat industry and that livestock farming is the #1 source of environmental pollution.

Well, there are many left-brained reasons to mention why I feel happy being a vegetarian, next to the feeling that it’s my natural state of being. I’m curious to what Jonathan Safran Foer, one of my favourite authors, tells about it in his first nonfiction book Eating Animals. Here you can read his synopsis. I think that anyone who starts a serious investigation on the question ‘why should we eat animals?’, and writes a book about it, deserves a loud BRAVO!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 11:05 pm

    Ik heb zijn ‘Extreem luid en ongelooflijk dichtbij’ boek gelezen. Super origineel!!

Leave a Reply

