Skip to content

Von Eusersdorff Classic Patchouli: smells like serene spirit

October 5, 2010


Patchouli has been ruling my personal aroma for many years now. I like to wear it light, never overwhelming, but sometimes I’m a bit to enthusiastic when pressing the spray button. One evening I did that with Karma (Lush), my favorite fragrance for ages. 15 minutes later, when I was on my bike to go out, I was followed by a stranger. A guy, who was cycling like a madman to uphold my tempo, asked me what lovely perfume I was wearing, so that he could buy it for his girlfriend! In those days I often heard people saying when entering the room I was sitting in: “Mmm, it smells like incense in here!

After years of good Karma, the bohemian in me was ready for something new. My sister gave me Eau de Patchouli of Reminiscence Paris as a present and made me very happy. Again I received many compliments about the oriental woody and musky mist that was always around me. My chiropractor even called me his best smelling client!

Unfortunately every 100 ml bottle comes to an empty end. I was already planning to try one of the other versions in the Patchouli range of Reminiscence, as I discovered Classic Patchouli of New York-based label Von Eusersdorff. This unisex Eau de Parfum is made in French Grasse, world-capital of perfume, and contains mainly black patchouli. Von Eusersdorff Classic Patchouli arrived in a limited number of bottles in Amsterdam at shops like menswear boutique OntFront (the cool spot where I bought a big bottle for € 89,95) and Precinct 5.

As you might expect from an unisex EDT, Classic Patchouli is simple, pure, and definitely not too sweet. It’s concentrated, but smelling much more subtle than my previous patchouli fragrances. I don’t think strangers will ask me again about what I’m wearing, but let’s see what happens when my BF and I wear Classic Patchouli at the same time!

Leave a Reply

