Skip to content

A darling for my baby

February 17, 2011

My belly has been carrying a little miracle for about 26 weeks now. Recently, it was not my boyfriend, but my sister who accompanied me to my midwife. Together we listened to the baby’s heartbeat. A very special moment for both of us. After the visit she surprised me with a sweet toy: Sophie the Giraffe. I wanted to buy Sophie, who makes a funny sound when you squeeze her, many times before. Every time I had her in my hands, I decided to put her back, as I had the belief that somebody might give it to my baby as a present. And so it happened!

Sophie la Girafe, a toy classic
The little giraffe was born in France on 25th May in the year 1961 on Saint Sophie’s day. In those days, the only animal toys available were farm animal or pet figures, so it was quite unique that Sophie was a giraffe and not a cow.  Sophie the Giraffe, who looked exactly the same then as she does today, was an immediate success. Vulli, a company based in Rumilly in the Haute-Savoie region of France has continued to keep the secret of how this wonder toy is made. Sophie is still ‘traditionally’ produced to this day, a process that involves more than 14 manual operations. She is made from 100% natural rubber derived from the sap of the Hevea tree and contains prints made of safe, all-natural food paint.

On YouTube you can watch a video on ‘the making of’ of Sophie the Giraffe.
Well, expect more cute news at Kiki’s Collage as a new world has opened its doors to me!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hans Willems permalink
    February 17, 2011 10:13 pm

    a darling for my baby !!

    your father could say:

    a baby for my darling.

Leave a Reply

