Skip to content

Power breakfast for cold days

January 9, 2012


In my pregnancy the iron levels in my blood were low. I asked my acupuncturist what to eat to increase them and she sent me a long list of blood strengthening foods*. She also advised me to breakfast with millet porridge. Millet porridge? It didn’t sound yummy to me at all! And after preparing it with water and later soy milk, I almost… Well, let’s keep it tasteful here.
It did cost some time to prepare a delicious porridge of millet: a gluten-free grain that is rich in iron and silica. But I succeeded and love it ever since!

I cook millet flakes in rice milk to get a creamy texture. Unsweetened rice milk, sometimes called ‘rice drink’, has a mild sweet taste by itself. To add some bite to the porridge I combine it with grated coconut, raisins and walnuts.
A great meal on cold winter mornings or whenever you need some extra energy!

RECIPE
1/2 cup of organic** millet flakes
1 – 1 1/3 cup of organic, unsweetened rice milk
1 small hand of organic sultana raisins
1 tbsp. organic grated coconut
some organic walnuts to decorate
organic ground cinnamon

Put the millet flakes and raisins in a (non stick) saucepan and keep on low gas flame. Add 1 cup of rice milk, stir and bring slowly to simmer and then cook. Soon the texture will get thicker. Keep stirring to avoid clumps, and burning at the bottom of the pan, and add some extra rice milk (1/3 cup) when necessary.
The package of the millet flakes tells me that the cooking time is 7 minutes, but after I notice air bubbles in the porridge, I stir for about 4 minutes and then switch the gas off. Cover the saucepan with lid, and the millet porridge will ‘steam’ well done in about 5 minutes. Stir halfway through and replace the lid.
Put the millet porridge in your favorite bowl, add grated coconut, walnuts and decorate with a pinch of ground cinnamon.
When desired some maple syrup can be added.
Instead of the raisins you can also use raspberries. Add frozen raspberries as soon as the millet starts cooking. Fresh raspberries can be added with the walnuts etc.

BON APPETIT!

* Examples of blood strengthening foods: red lentils, black beans, mung beans, homemade vegetable stock, eggs,  green leafy vegetables, spinach, carrots, beetroots, parsley, miso soup, tempeh, tofu, algae (spirulina), black sesame, lychees, coconut, rice, marmite, vegemite, millet, red grapes, dried apricots, figs and dates, dried black mulberry, gou qi zi (a.k.a. goji berry), raspberries, cashewnuts, walnuts, quinoa, sweet batates, watercress, pumpkin etc.

** Of course it’s up to you whether you want to use organic or conventional ingredients. I prefer organic stuff and, here in Holland, things like rice milk and millet flakes are hard to find in traditional supermarkets, but can be find at eco groceries.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 11:52 am

    I love your blog🙂
    It’s really nice.

  2. January 13, 2012 6:43 pm

    Thank you, Mathieu.
    I just visited your blog and tried to leave a comment, but not sure if it worked out.
    My apologies when you got the same comment for 3 times or something.

  3. November 15, 2016 6:39 pm

    I Love Mulberries, Love their taste!

Leave a Reply

